Story#38:  Hubris 

A man threw a rock into a river. The rock bounced back and hit him in the head.

A fish popped its’ head out of the water.

“What are you doing?” the fish said angrily.

“I was trying to skip rocks over the water,” the man answered, rubbing the sore spot on his forehead.

“So you realize how stupid you sound,” the fish said with a fron. “What if I threw a rock at your house and when you asked me what I was doing I said ‘skipping rocks over your roof’.  What would you think then?”

Then the man whacked the fish over its head with a large stick, knocking it out.  He brought the fish home and put it in a fish bowl and wait for it to wake up.

“Why did you bring here?”the fish said in obviously confusion when it was finally awake.

“Because you can talk,” the man said matter-of-factly. “And now I am going to show you to the work, and you are going to make me rich.”

“You really are stupid,” the fished laughed.  “After what you’ve done to me, what makes you think I’m going to make you rich.”

“Because if you don’t,” the man grinned.  “I’m going to make you into a nice fish dinner.”

So the fish did exactly what the man wanted, and made him rich beyond his wildest dreams by making appearance on Jimmy Fallon, Ellen, and Wendy Williams.  A line of books feature inspirational fish saying was produced as well as an elaborate collection of toys and a Lifetime made for TV movie.

But just when the man had bought his seventh house, the fish began to talk to the paparazzi.  He told the, that man was a abusive, making up horrible and incriminating stories.  Soon the money stopped flowing, and the man was forced to sell off his 52 cars, 3 boats and 5 jets.  He ended up flat broke and on the streets. All he had left was the fish.

“I’m going to eat you now,” the man, who literally had nothing to eat, growled.

“Go ahead,” smile the fish. “I already got my revenge.  You will live on the streets and never have money again.”

So the man ate the fish. Despite his hunger, it was the worst, most bitter meal of his life.  In fact it was so bad, he violently threw it up.

Leave a Reply

